How to easily cancel Netflix?

How to easily cancel Netflix?
Miriam Belar
Miriam Belar

March 23, 2021 - 6 min read

Share:


If you want to cancel your Netflix subscription, you can do so at any time. Below you can find a long and painful procedure about how to cancel your subscription to Netflix, but if you want to skip the pain, use Revuto to block any subscription in a second.

Here is a quick guide on how to do it:

1. Open a web browser

2. Go to Netflix.com

3. Click on your profile picture in the top-right corner

4. Select “Account”

5. Near the top of the page, under Membership and Billing, click “Cancel Membership” 

6. Click “Confirm”

More information on Netflix and how to cancel it

Netflix is a subscription-based streaming service that allows its users to watch movies and TV shows on an internet-connected device. You can watch the content you want without an internet connection as well, but you need to download it to your iOS, Android, or Windows 10 device.

Netflix reached 203.7 million subscribers in January 2021, including 73 million in the United States. It is available worldwide except in the following: mainland China, Syria, North Korea, and Crimea. In the year of the pandemic, 2020, Netflix added a record 37 million paid subscribers.

This American production company and the content platform was founded in 1997. by Reed Hastings and Marc Randolph in Scotts Valley, California. 

What membership plans does Netflix have?

Netflix has 3 monthly plans: Basic (7.99€), Standard (9.99€), and Premium (11.99€).

The plan you choose will determine the number of devices that you can watch Netflix on at the same time. You can also watch unlimited movies and TV shows if you download the Netflix app on all your devices.

As a Netflix member, you can change your plan or cancel your subscription at any time. Netflix will charge you every month on the date you signed up.

When you sign up for Netflix, there is a chance that you will get a free upgrade to a higher plan during your first month of using the service. Before your free upgrade ends, Netflix will ask you if you want to keep the higher plan.

If you do nothing, you will automatically be switched to the plan you signed up for.

If you choose to keep the higher plan, you will be charged the price for this plan on your next billing date.

How to cancel a Netflix subscription?

If you want to cancel your Netflix subscription, you can do so at any time. However, the process depends on how you are being billed — directly through Netflix, via iTunes, or through another third-party.

Here are the steps you need to take:

1. Open a web browser

2. Go to Netflix.com

3. Click on your profile picture in the top-right corner

4. Select “Account”

5. Near the top of the page, under Membership and Billing, click “Cancel Membership” 

6. Click “Confirm”

If you have a DVD plan, click “Cancel your DVD plan” and “Confirm”.

How to cancel your Netflix subscription through iTunes?

If your Netflix account is being billed via iTunes, you can cancel it using your iPhone or iPad.

1. Use your iOS device

2. Start the Settings app

3. Click “iTunes & App Store”

4. Tap your Apple ID at the top of the screen

5. Click “View Apple ID” in the window that appears

6. Click “Subscriptions”

7. Netflix should be in the list of active subscriptions – click on it

8. Tap “Cancel Subscription,” and then “Confirm.”

Easily cancel your Netflix subscription with Revuto!

Revuto is a one-stop solution for all your subscriptions. Approve, Block, or Snooze your payment for any service in seconds.

Sign up for Revuto to become one of our first users and to be able to use the Revuto app for free.

  1. Add your new or existing (Netflix) subscription by clicking on + in the right corner of the screen
  2. Enter your (Netflix) subscription details
  3. Wait for the next billing cycle – Revuto will send you notifications:
  • Approve (Pay subscription)
  • Block (Unsubscribe)
  • Snooze (Postpone payment)

Once verified, you will be able to block or Snooze Netflix payments. 

Does Netflix have a grace period?

If you decide to cancel your Netflix subscription early, you will be able to watch movies and TV shows on Netflix until your account automatically closes at the end of your current billing period – even if you’re on a free trial.

After your account closes, Netflix will keep your Viewing Activity for 10 months. If you decide to come back within those 10 months, you can continue with your activity right where you left off.

Your recommendations, ratings, and account details will also be saved for 10 months.

What if:

  • You cancel Netflix?
  • You want to rejoin?
  • You want to restart your Netflix account?

If you cancel your Netflix subscription, your account will be closed immediately and you won’t be charged for your membership unless you restart your account. If you cancel with time left in your billing period, they will let you stream until the account cancels automatically.

You are able to rejoin Netflix if you want, just restart your Netflix account from your Account page.

If you want to restart your Netflix account, you can do so by signing in to Netflix and selecting Restart Your Membership from any profile (except a Kids profile).

In case you need to reset your password, you will be redirected to your Account page where you will select Add streaming plan, and then Restart Your Membership.

If your account is inactive, you’ll be asked to restart your membership once you sign in to Netflix. Your billing date will change to the date you restart your membership. If your account is active, you can retain your status by selecting the Restart Your Membership link on your Account page. Your billing date will not change.

You are able to change your billing day as well. You can choose a day that works for you.

This option is only available if you pay with a debit or credit card or PayPal (where applicable). You cannot change your billing date during a free period, on the current billing date, or if your account is on hold.

Furthermore, you cannot legally obtain a free Netflix account for more than one month, though you can technically create multiple accounts for multiple free months if you have several different payment methods.

When Netflix tries to charge your method of payment, and it fails, they will suspend your account. Netflix will also send you an email letting you know that something is up with your account. If the account goes unpaid for a month, your account will be closed.

Don’t forget with Revuto you can:

  1. Block or Snooze or Approve each subscription in seconds
  2. Split costs with friends in a safe and secure way
  3. Swap unused subscriptions with friends
  4. All payment information and passwords are tokenized

Share: